Date: 7/20/2019 3:40:35 PM

For Immediate Release  Thank you 




Media contact:  D&D Media

Track Office:  856-467-4407

24 Hour info:  856-467-4408


Twitter: Spirit_Speedway

Follow us on Facebook



Upcoming events

Friday, July 19 -  270, 600 & 250 Micro Sprints, racing at 8pm

Sunday, August 4 - Poker Series - 270 & 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots and Xcel 600 Modifieds - racing at 6pm

Friday, August 23 - 270 &, 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots and Mini Late Models - racing at 8pm

Friday, August 30 - 270, 600 & 250 Micro Sprints, racing at 8pm




Damon Paul and Kyle Weiss claimed their first victories of the 2019 season on the Spirit Speedway quarter mile on Friday night. 


It was a clean sweep for Paul who raced to victory in both of the Twin 15 lap features for the Ace Overhead Door Company 600 Micro Sprint feature events.  Paul earned his first ever Spirit victory in a Twin 15 show last season and now has four career wins at Spirit after Friday night's events.


Kyle Weiss finally had things go his way as he drove to his first win in the JS Weld-Rite/Mongoose Chassis 270 Micro Sprint twenty lap feature event.  Weiss has shown plenty of speed all season but his results have been hindered by on track incidents or mechanical failures.  That was not the case on Friday night as Weiss picked up his first Spirit win since the 2017 season.


In the first of two fifteen lap feature events for the Ace Overhead Door Company 600 Micro Sprints, Kyle Spence and Paul lined up side by side on the front row to lead the field to the green flag.  Spence immediately took the lead and moved up the track to take the lead as Whitey Kidd III took over second on the first lap.  Paul regained second after a second lap restart as Kidd and Matt Smith battled for third.  As Spence led the field through lap five, Kidd owned third leaving Smith to battle with Mike Rutherford for fourth.  


Paul stayed right with Spence, pressing the leader on every lap.  The top five remained unchanged through lap ten but on lap eleven, Paul passed Spence for the lead, only to have the caution flag wave, negating his efforts.  Spence led the way when the green flag waved again.  Smith took over third on lap twelve.


With just two laps remaining, the field lined up for a single file restart.  This time, Paul executed his inside move to perfection, coming away with the lead.  Paul led the final two laps, leading Spence, Smith, Kidd, and Rutherford to the checkered flag.  John Barnett finished sixth followed by Eddie Barber Jr., Gary Bozowksi, Richie Keller and Colin Bustard to complete the top ten.  Paul drew the number eight for the inversion for the second fifteen lap feature event.


Gary Bozowski and Eddie Barber, Jr. led the way to the start of the second fifteen lap feature event.  Bozowski put the No. 97G out in front.  Mike Rutherford moved up to second on lap two with Spence and Paul right behind.


After an early race caution, the field raced non-stop to the checkered flag with Bozowski holding off the challenges of Paul lap after lap.  Bozowski led the way for thirteen laps before Paul drove underneath him to take the lead on lap fourteen.  


Paul led the way to the checkered for a clean sweep followed by Bozowski, Spence, PJ Williams and Rutherford.  Bustard crossed the line in sixth followed by Barber, Kidd, Smith and Jon Keller.  


Polesitter, Sean Huesser led the field of JS Weld-Rite/Mongoose Chassis 270 Micro Sprints to the start of their twenty lap feature event but had to race three wide in order to maintain the lead for lap one.  Weiss raced into second on lap two as Alex Swift raced into third.  


Weiss raced into the lead on a lap five restart.  Huesser made contact while trying to regain the lead, sending him for a wild ride in turn four.  Swift received significant damage and headed to the pits.  Huesser was not injured but his race ended on lap five as the No. 20 was towed to the pits.


Weiss led the way on the restart as the cars battled it out for the top five behind the leader.  Justin Dougherty raced in second in his No. 4 but it was the No. 4 of Decker Morrow who took over second in the final five laps.  


Weiss led the way to the checkered to capture the win over Morrow, Mike Rutherford, Luke Fogg who battled back from an early race incident and John Wagner, Jr. completing the top five.  Tom Landwher, Dougherty, Tyler Grau, Jon West and Jayson Conover rounded out the top ten. 


Jason Dunkleberger dominated the Mini Late Model feature event to take the win at the end of fifteen laps followed by Chris Pascoe and Tucker Gordner.


Racing returns to the Spirit Speedway quarter mile next Friday night with a tripleheader of Micro Sprints as the 270 & 600s are joined by the 250 division.  Racing gets underway at 8pm. 12, 2019





1. Damon Paul, 2. Kyle Spence, 3. Matt Smith, 4. Whitey Kidd III, 5. Mike Rutherford, 6. John Barnett, 7. Ed Barber III, 8. Gary Bozowski, 9. Richie Keller, 10. Colin Bustard, 11. Nick Havens, 12. P.J. Williams, 13. Brandon Pavel, 14. Jon Keller, 15. Nick Walton, 16. Mark Landwher, 17. Joe Dopke, 18. Jermain Godshall, 19. Sam LaMothe, 20. Jim Tippin, 21. Dean Seemams, 22. Dave Damaio, 23. Billy Calvert, 24. Bobby Scherff, DNS Phil Meisner, DNQ Matt McDaniel, Zach Burgess, Kristy Hicks, Lee Nardelli, Mike Linderman



1. Damon Paul, 2. Gary Bozowski, 3. Kyle Spence, 4. P.J. Williams, 5. Mike Rutherford, 6. Colin Bustard, 7. Ed Barber III, 8. Whitey Kidd III, 9. Matt Smith, 10. Jon Keller, 11. Brandon Pavel, 12. Richie Keller, 13. Nick Walton, 14. Nick Havens, 15. Joe Dopke, 16. Jermain Godshall, 17. Billy Calvert, 18. Bobby Scherff, 19. Mark Landwher, 20. Phil Meisner, 21. Matt McDaniel, 22. Sam LaMothe, 23. Dave Damaio, DNS John Barnett, Jim Tippin, Dean Seemans



1. Kyle Weiss, 2. Decker Morrow, 3. Mike Rutherford, 4. Luke Fogg, 5. John Wagner, Jr., 6. Tom Landwher, 7. Jonathan Dougherty, 8. Tyler Grau, 9. Jon West, 10. Jayson Conover, 11. Shea Wills, 12. Brandon Shipley, 13. R.J. Witcraft, 14. Sarah Napora, 15. Connor Sheffield, 16. Steve Coslop, 17. Barry Pollard, 18. Josh Conover, 19. Ross Holler, 20. Junior Ramer, 21. Sean Huesser, 22. Alex Swift, 23. Jacob Byron, 24. Tyler Tank.



1. Jason Dunkelberger, 2. Chris Pascoe, 3. Tucker Gordner


Return-to-Bridgeport Speedway News and Results (Friday)