SKYSCRAPER III CLOSES OUT SPIRIT AUTO CENTER SPEEDWAY'S 2019 SEASON (Final Poker Series Bill Thomas Memorial Cancelled for Sunday)

Date: 10/8/2019 9:02:56 PM

(Final Poker Series Bill Thomas Memorial Cancelled for Sunday)

Bridgeport, NJ - With another successful Skyscraper Weekend in the books, it's time to look ahead to 2020 for the action-packed 1/4 mile race track known as Spirit Speedway. Unfortunately, the October 13 annual Bill Thomas Memorial Race has been cancelled this coming Sunday.

With the B.T. Memorial sandwiched in between the two biggest races of the season for the micro sprints, there are many racing teams regrouping for the Linda's Nationals or just calling it a season. "I reached out to over 60 teams on Monday to thank them for their support at the Skyscraper and also asked it they had planned on racing next Sunday," offered track manager Danny Serrano. "Unfortunately, just a hand full of teams confirmed that they would be in attendance. Last year we had the B.T. race in November with really cold temperatures, so this year we tried to have it a littler earlier not realizing the strain on the teams at this point in the season. I take full responsibility for the poor scheduling on the track's behalf. There are just 'x' amount of weekends without stepping on another track's plans," Serrano added.

The 2019 Poker Series Champions have been crowned after last week's final Poker Series event. Mike Rutherford led the way in the Ace Overhead Door 600 micro sprints with a pair of 4ís, Tommy Kunsman had the second best hand with an Ace, Queen, and 3 and Kyle Spence rounded out the top 3 with an Ace, 9 and 6

In the JS Weld-Rite/Mongoose Chassis 270s, rookie Jason Swavely is crowned the 2019 champion with an Ace, King, and 5. Finishing behind Swavely who recorded a King and Queen was Alex Swift and rounding out the top 3 was Ken Andreas who earned a Jack and a 9.

In the Action Track USA Slingshot Poker Series it was Amanda Angstadt who won this year's title with a pair of Kings. Finishing behind Amanda were track regulars Dave Morrell and Ashely Therien who earned a pair of 9's and pair of 8's respectively.

The 3 best hands in the Poker Series races will be honored at the end of the year awards banquet on December 7. Along with the Poker Series drivers the top 10 in both micro sprint divisions will be acknowledged with awards and a will the top 5 in the in the Slingshot division. For information regarding the banquet please check the website at or call Danny Serrano at 609-433-4487.

Return-to-Bridgeport Speedway News and Results (Friday)